dancing_moon: To Victory! Daleks can win the war (victory!)
After a lovely long brunch with my classmates (got fresh pancakes, yay!) we went to see the new Tintin adventure. It was really well animated, and the plot was completely decent too, for an adventure movie. I had a bit of a trouble to get used to the English names (Thompson? But they're called Dupond and Dupont! Not to mention Milou...) but otherwise, it worked well though one of my classmates found the dialogue painfully clunky.

It tried to make the action scenes a bit too epic, which kind of jarred with the cartoony violence, but all in all, it was a fun film. One of the better comic-to-movie productions I've seen
dancing_moon: Kitty: *hugs* (*hugs*)
Today I:

- Had a interesting two hour seminar about marginalized identities (bonus: discovered that I might just be able to get some kind of points for it too!)
- Bought a pair of sport pants, because I always do everything in the last minute
- Had my first fencing class. I'm woefully out of shape, but it was fun!
- Am about to go sing karaoke ^^

All in all, I feel no guilt that my dinner was a döner.
dancing_moon: Wao Youka as Dracula (Creepy)
So I was going to do a nice, well-structured post on the German university system (because some of my former classmates from Sweden were curious) but that will have to wait a bit, since I'm feeling a bit too tired for that right now. My annoying almost-cold is beginning to become a real chest cold, which I am valiantly fighting with the help of fresh ginger tea, eucalyptus honey, hot steamy baths and a bit more actual shut-eye in the sleep/internet equation.

In the beginning of November, we'll go see the Norwegian all-female band Katzenjammer. According to our Katzenjammer-expert, they do "chaos pop with some folk-punk". It's fast, engaging and entertaining at least, and I think the concert might turn out to be really great - they seem like one of those bands that do extra well live.


One of my favorite songs, A bar in Amsterdam.

We bought the tickets today and, since we were at the ticket office already also got tickets for the musical Tanz der Vampire - one pair of plastic fangs included with the tickets!
Alas, it's based on the movie by Roman Polanski, him of serious skeevyness, and as such, I'm sure he'll get royalties. Otoh, I hope it's not too much, because Tanz der Vampire nicely filled some ticky-boxes on my mental "Stuffs I Must Do in Berlin This Exchange Year": Seeing some big-budget stage extravaganza, seeing a original German-language musical and vampires/gothy stuff. They'll show the Rocky Horror Picture Show here in Berlin too, in November, which works for ticky-box one and three, but since it will either be translated or in "denglish" (German talk, English songs) it moves to the second position.
Also, the stage images they have on the website look wonderful (eeeeeven though one of the posters has a bit of a Twilight-y vibe going on) so, uhm, I'll just be evil and go. Sorry.

A few days ago, I finished reading Walter Moer's Ensel and Krete: ein Märchen aus Zamonien. Bookblather goes here )

Basically, it's a take-it-or-leave-it book, though anyone who has a strong liking for Moer's style ought to have fun with it. It's also the first book where Hildegunst von Mythenmerz is introduced, which alone makes it worth a read.

When buying this one, I also noticed that the sequel to his Die Stadt der Träumenden Bücher had arrived: Das Labyrinth der Träumenden Bücher! Only out in hardcover so far, but I'm very much looking forward to reading it later :) And there's apparantly a third part coming out in about a year, swell!
dancing_moon: Mana looks angsty (woes)
Okay. Whoa.

University began. Bit more work they expect me to do, here in Germany.

Otoh, I'll probably learn plenty of useful things

Brb, just gotta adapt to a life of actually working again after 2 months vacation!
dancing_moon: Farin Urlaub is shot by Lara Croft. No, really (Farin U)
I've increased my social life with, like, 245% since I got to Berlin. The downside is that when I'm not doing anything, I'm utterly exhausted. I think the evening stuff go down a bit now that university is starting, although I'll certainly try to be active and do something at least once a week. However, I can also feel a marked improvement in my mood compared to how it usually is in October- Winter depression talk cut )

ERASMUS-party
On Friday, the evening started in Steffi's new apartment, where I made the happy discovery that if you mix the sparkling whine from Lidl with peach juice, it is not only tolerably but actuallly good. Considering that the sparkling wine costs ten cents less than the peach juice, I had some serious doubts about the drinkability of the stuff...

After that, we made our way to Kino International, where they had a party evening for ERASMUS students. Since I'd messed up my schedule on Friday and thought I had more classes than I did, I failed to buy tickets before and so had to pay a horrible 6 € at the door.

Entering this club, btw, was a very "German" experience. First we had to show ID. Then they checked the bags. Then a girl took our money/pre-booked tickets, checked that we were students, stamped us and gave us a little ticket. Three steps behind her a man took that little ticket back and finally, once you got up the stairs, you could stand in line for the wardrobe. Despite that, it was pretty efficient (except for the wardrobe, but that is an international problem afaik)

Unfortunately, the music turned out to be less than great. I'm no expert on club music, but I found the beat hard to dance to and the clubbing expert in our group agreed. Hopefully next party will be better, though I think we've agreed to skip the ERASMUS events as they often seem to suffer from dreadful DJ's.

E.G.A.L.
Tonight, I visited an amateur show wherein a friend took part: The theatre troop Stageink's "Eine Gala aus Liedern (und mit allem, was dazugehört)".

It was quite entertaining and the advanced level of tech was a positive surprise! They even had a full live band with drums, guitar, bass, cello & piano. The cello in particular lifted some pieces miles above a playback experience.

My favorite pieces were the (German) Scrubs song, that is, J.D & Turks "Guy Love Duet", or whatever it's called, it was unfortunately not introduced. Several of the Elizabeth pieces were also very good (the singer in top hat had a good voice and an impressive stage presence), of which the only ones title I remember was "Milch". Good song and Oscar, the girl in the uniform did a spiffing job. To my great surprise, I got to hear a very nice performance of the wolf song, from Ronia the Robber's Daughter!! I totally didn't connect the title with that song when they introduced it, but from the first tones all the memories came back (and most of the lyrics too). Impressive, considering I haven't seen the films since I was like twelve. Otoh, I watched it maaaaany times before that ^_^

They also performed the Time Warp, which was alas a bit ruined by the microphones not working for everyone, including the male lead singer. Luckily, they did it again as the extra song at the end, and that time everything technical co-operated much better. (is there an English word for "zugabe"? Or do they use encore, perhaps?)
Which reminds me of the only really negative thing about the evening (except the lack of a program I could buy; Matt, plz improve to the next show? Some of us have a scrapbook to fill ;) - a loudspeaker or something made a really annoying buzzing sound. Sounded like my old speakers, actually, before I manage to ground them. Luckily, while annoying the sound wasn't too loud and during most songs I could forget about it

All in all, the show was varied, entertaining and the singing provess of, well, everyone impressed me mightily. With a glass of champagne, it was quite a nice way to spend a Sunday evening and I look forward to the spring show.

Oh, and from a pure geek bias, I of course approve of opening any gala with two Harry Potter choirs ;)
dancing_moon: My books: Never enough shelf space (books)
Yesterday I kind of reached my breaking point. Or is that boiling point? Anyway, late Monday evening I did a last check of my schedule - in case they'd switched rooms or something. And there I found out that I'd been thrown out of two classes by the online scheduling system, which kind of made me flip my shit a bit. Now, the first class, which was on Tuesday morning, wasn't too bad since it said that it's got unlimited space. But the second class, which I'll go visited and try to get into today, only has 35 places. And I applied in good time, but now I'm not sure if I'll be able to take it or not. It also looks really interesting

Then in the morning we got a surprise (for me) visit by the washing machine repair guy, which would have annoyed me considerably less if I'd known to wash my hair in the evening. Solution: Keep that hat on, yo! Lucky for me, there was such a long break between morning and afternoon class so I could go home and fix my hair. I just hate it when stuff messes up on my first day...

The day finished with an epically long lecture, on an interesting but heavy topic: The lost illusions of German nationalism, a cultural history. Interesting, but hard to listen to for three hours, especially as I was kind of dying of hunger after a while and because the lecture contained omg so much information, of which I desperately had to try and write everything down.
Thank goodness for anime, is all I can say, because it is not an exaggeration to state that everything I learned about the Holy Roman Empire I learned due to Hetalia. And there was a lot about the HRE yesterday, as well as various German poets whose names I only vaguely recall (Klopstock being the one I know best, and even that is basically as "the guy they like in Werther") as well as various societies and groups. Unfortunately, our lecturer did not write a single thing on the whiteboard, nor did he put on any pictures or anything, so I will have to go through my notes and try to google/wiki the hmm-mebbe-spelled-like-this? people.

Oh, and he's scheduled the exams for the 20th or 21th of December. When I have already gone back to Sweden for Christmas, since the website and several people have stated quite clearly that term ends on the 19th December. Joy is not what I feel about this revelation...

Anyway, tired and grumpy as I was, I hurried over to the library (which is open until midnight ♥) and decided with some of my classmates that one successful day totally deserves a beer or similar. So we met up at Warschauer strasse in the rain (I don't know why, but Berlin never feels as Berlin-y to me as when it's raining) and then found a little italian place with cheap drinks. And nice soup too, we discovered after a while. I tried a grog, which was less sweet than I had expected but just what I needed after that day and then somehow we ended up with me and A having a bit of a Harry Potter geekout - I think I want to read the books in German before I go home, btw - and it was basically just what I needed.

Today I'll try to apply for a language class and will go to my maybe-I'm-allowed-in-maybe-not class and hopefully it will start better and end as well as yesterday.
dancing_moon: Text: Resistance is ohm (resistance is ohm)
Wrote a mail to the leader of the Projekttutorium "Marginalized identities & their representation" asking for further information, but unless I've grossly misunderstood everything I'll sign up and visit this seminar series.

Of course, before I got that far, I had to figure out what the heck a projektutorium is. Since I activated my Humboldt e-mail account, I've gotten several mails daily inviting me to various things. Some was just crap, some was events happening at the university and then there were all these "projekttutoriums"... Does that mean tutorials? Open lectures? Wut?

Luckily, the one that finally tickled my interest enough to click through to the main site also contained a handy link to the university page explaining what a PT is.

Basically, it's a series of classes/seminars lead by a students about topics that do not fit into the regular study topics (or there's no-one interested in teaching it, I guess, since intersectionality and identities totally seems like a "valid" topic) and you get no points/ECTS-credits for them. However, the university supplies rooms, a bit of money and you can add it to your schedule through the AGNES-system, where you add all regular classes. I think it's a great idea and, even if this PT wouldn't have had a topic which I'm really interested in, I would've liked to visit some PT just to see how it works. I can't think of anything similar on Swedish universitites, there everything seems to be done either through the student union (completely free, but also rarely economic support from the university) or it's part of someone's thesis work, comes from a faculty or similar.

Anyway, I think I'll take part of the PT about Marginalisierte Identitäten und deren Repräsentation. The topics are Queer History, Race, Trans* liberation, Rights of children (ex. Intersexed children), Religion/Visibility of Islam in Europe, HIV/AIDS, Disability Studies and Methods & Language.
It all looks quite interesting, also the time-plan seems well-structured with a (so far I can judge) varied and relevant reading list.

Since I'm strictly verboten from taking regular classes that aren't offered by the Philosophic Faculty II (basically, German + a bunch of European languages) I think it will be a nice break from only lit. classes. And, of course, it connects nicely with my interest in gender-studies. I've also never before had the time or possibility to take classes directly concerning racism or other non-gender opressions, nor a "pure" minorities studies class, so this is a good chance to try something new.

Is anyone else familiar with this kind of student-lead studies? Do they tend to work well?

In further somewhat study-relevant news, I managed to nab a place in one of the super-cheap sport groups that are on offer for students. I'm going to lern fencing! With a sabre! Wish me luck, I'll totally need it ;P
dancing_moon: My books: Never enough shelf space (books)
Today I went on the library tour through the imposing Grimm-Zentrum, the brand new (only two years old!) university library that belongs to Humboldt. It's not exactly easy to figure out what to do the first time you enter here, but after an informative tour, I think I'll manage. More or less.

Secondly, I got the computer connected to the university wlan \o/ Now, just gotta fix the phone too.

And, last but not least, I logged into my university account, looked at my schedule (that I've put together myself *ohSOproud*), found the one book that I know we are to read, found it in the library catalogue and nabbed the very last book from the shelf.

Good job, self, it almost makes up for not cleaning this morning even though you were supposed to. Now, home, eat and then off and see if I can get tickets for Versailles.
dancing_moon: Gilbert goes "Wat??" (wat)
We went to the cinema last week, on Thursday to be more exact. We... which in this case, I should probably mention, means the Danish girl and other Swedish girl from the language class. We're a trio of easily amused, often dirty-minded Scandinavians, who have begun making themselves known as "Snusktanterna" among the ERASMUS students of Berlin and are working (in co-operation with the He-of-the-posh-accent AKA one of the British guys (seriously, poshest accent ever!) to spread the Swedish word Snusk (Dirty) to as many people as possible during this year.

Anyway! We were originally planning to watch the highbrow masterpiece Cowboys & Aliens, but, due to it only being shown in dubbed form, decided to skip that for now. Von Trier's Melancholia was under discussion but I (foolishly, it turned out) vetoed it due to 1) Von Trier and 2) dying woman, meh. Then we talked about something with piano playing kids on the poster, finally settling for a Dutch movie only one of us had heard something about. This movie also contained a dying woman; it's allegedly all about this woman dying in cancer. But at least we all hoped that the dubbing would be more tolerable, seeing as how we're not used to watching Dutch movies and also, it was starting in 20 minutes and we didn't feel like waiting.

So. In we go. The trailers start running and I tell you, completely without irony, that they were the best part of the whole thing (especially Hotel Lux, as I have a sentimental fondness for Michael Bully's comedies).

What followed where two hours of horrible acting, awful soundtrack, too many pointless MTV cuts and a main character so unappealing I hoped he'd catch his wife's cancer and die. Preferably within the first 10 minutes, please. There was also enough nudity (mostly female, though we got to see more of the lead male's ass than I'd ever wished) to make a soft-core pornflick, though considering how boring the sex was, I don't think it would've been much of a hit. Oh, except the scene where they run around in a wheat field, naked, calling each other with bird pipes - that one surpasses boring and goes straight into WTF?

The title of the movie, btw, is Komt een vrouw bij de dokter in Dutch, Love-Life in German, Stricken in English and apparantly En sorts kärlek in Swedish... Maybe they thought if they swapped the title enough times, some day it would turn into a good movie?

Our alternate taglines were:
A movie for asshole men: Don't worry if she dies of cancer, you can keep on fuckin' around!
&
Maybe she's dying from it - maybe it's Maybelline! This
due to the way the post-chemotherapy woman wakes up after a night of partying in a hotel with her perfect mascara and eyeliner on her perfect, pretty face. Sssyeeeahright. She also loses all head hair, but keeps eyebrows and lashes. Superglue?

The plot is simple: Two seriously rich people marry and are happy, but he "needs" to sleep around. So he does. She gets cancer, he angsts about it and gets a permanent lover. She dies, he keeps on being rich and is probably still sleeping around. Oh, and they have a daughter, but she's got the personality and is apparantly treated much like one of Paris Hilton's chihuahuas so never mind her.
What I only found out afterwards is that it's apparantly based on a book based on a true story. Because rich guys writing about their dying wives whom they can't be faithful to, is apparantly exactly what the literary world needs more of!

There's a silver lining to everything, though and in this case it was Apfelschorle. Or rather the realization of exactly how huge a "large" cup of soda is in German cinemas and that I totally can't order one of those unless I expect a movie where it doesn't matter if I have to powder my nose halfway through. We also discovered that the salsa dip (to the nacho chips) was far beneath our standards, while the cheese dip surprised in tastiness.
dancing_moon: Farin Urlaub is shot by Lara Croft. No, really (Farin U)
Where did last week go? o.0 I thought, what with language class ending, that I'd have a bit more free time, but a sudden realization that it was my cleaning weekend and I'd signed up for a "How to study in Germany" workshop which lasted all Saturday suddenly made the time seem very short indeed... This week, I'm technically free, but tomorrow will be completely dedicated to university stuff, since we have our introduction events for both the department and all international students. The other days are also a bit booked with various tours - of library, mediothek etc, which I think I will all need to visit because hot damn if the Humboldt university ain't a quagmire of rules!! Just getting into the library is approaching airport securty controls.

Some whining re school )




Leaving behind the woes of a student (for the moment), I do have some little free time this week and I intend to use it well!

Today I went with three classmates from the language group (I'll miss them soooo much! Even though we've got a Fb group, it won't be the same thing! And we we were such a nice, well-matched group, nevermind our obsession with whether the teacher waxed his chest or not... Ahem, moving on) to the museum Haus am Checkpoint Charlie.
It's dedicated to the Berlin Wall; it's history, the victims, the escapes and the art it inspired. It also has a pretty substantial department which covers peaceful protests against human rights abuse and, more generally, the different protests in the Soviet area.

Text-intensive, quite "heavy" museum, but super interesting if you take the time to read it all.
That it's actually located right at (the rebuilt) Checkpoint Charlie and is quite agitatory about the themes covered, makes it even more of an experience. Since it's inside an old office building (bigger on the inside! but not by much!) and a first stop for many tourists, there are heavy crowds and not much oxygen.

Anyway, in we went and spent an informative couple of hours. I've visited once, but it was ten years ago and it was interesting to return. This time, I could also appreciate some of the art pieces a bit more, although most of my mental energy was expanded on reading the many signs.

You really, REALLY need to be willing to take your time with the (many) signs on the walls here. They, and the photos they accompany of course, are the meat of the museum - the actual exhibit pieces are mostly items used in escapes and some rather kitschy bits of clothing (uniforms and whatnot). Due to the somewhat erratic spelling/grammar in the English signs, it also helps to have a good grasp of German. I think this is (one of) the reason(s) for several negative reviews I found online.
The other is the somewhat mistaken impression one easily gets from the name of the museum. This ain't a pedagogic look at the "how and why" of the Iron Curtain, but more a grand collection of eye-witness accounts. And if you're not familiar with at least a bit background structure, you won't be able to understand much of what's happening.

Despite the crowds and weird layout, I would still recommend the Haus am Maur ten times more than the GDR museum (located near the Berlin Dome, by the water) which really is a kitschy tourist trap. That ones full of "everyday items from the GRD" and, uh yeah, while it is a kid-friendly museum it was a bit too much Ostalgie and not enough information for me.

Aaaanyway, back to Checkpoint Charlie. Since I'm the kind of geek that likes reading signs, I quite like the Wall House, even if I would have wished the company of slightly fewer visitors.

What did baffle me quite a bit were the two rooms dedicated to Ronald Reagan and Axel Springer. Not that they existed as such, considering how both of them said and did things that are quite relevant in a look at the political themes surrounding the wall, but that the informationed semed about 110% positive. While Reagan's timeline included the tax cuts and his firing of the air traffic controllers, it was mentioned in one line. I think even his cowboy stuff got a sign of it's own, but not this.

And Springer? Who is definitely a debated figure in German history, especially if you're a museum dedicated to human rights issues, protests and freedom... Now, admittedly, I didn't read everything in that room as we were all getting quite tired, but the overall tone seemed very pro Springer-company. Since this is a privately owned museum, they are of course free to exhibit whatever they want, but it made me quite curious about 1) who actually owns the place, these days and 2) what else are they leaving out?

Anyway - if you're in Berlin, you could do worse than come to this museum. Just get up earlier than we did, so you don't have to push through quite as many crowds.
dancing_moon: Mana looks angsty (Mana)
Yesterday, our language class had organized an evening out for us and the class visited the Blue Man Group performance in Berlin. If one has been to Berlin any time the last years, it's been nigh impossible to miss the ads for this show. However, since it's a) pretty expensive and b) I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy it, I've never gone. Good thinking, since I could now go for free!

It was a very loud (sometimes a bit too loud) and colorful show. There were skits I greatly enjoyed, especially the awkward dinner scene, when they began climbing into the audience and the animation/cyber-café parts - the visual trick with the stick-figure that "becomes 3D" was excellent! The late-comers-song made me lulz, and in the skit where one Blue Man has caught a lot of paper tissues (I first thought it was marshmallows!) with his mouth and then puts them on a tray in a, ahem, suggestive shape, I looked to my classmate next to me and with one voice, we declared it Dirrrty! (or rather, Snusk, a Swedish word we are slowly spreading throughout the ERASMUS students in town.

The incessant drumming bored me a bit, and I wish our school could have informed us about just how much strobe-lightning would be used. I guess if you buy a ticket for a show like this, it's on you to be reformed, but when you don't speak the language and are handed a free ticket, it might pass you by. There were warning signs in the theatre, but I'd be quite bummed off if I had come so far and then had to go home again. They might also have suggested earplugs - the show if quite child-friendly, but loud!

Anyway, a very enjoyable experience, absolutely the best excursion arranged by the school and I'm glad I've seen it!

The evening ended at Que Pasa! by Görlitzer Bhf, since it's cheap and decent and we were all starving (nothing by Potsdamer Platz is cheap, btw, though many restaurants are decent. Except McDonald's, which is neither, considering what you get for your money). After a good meal and an excellent cocktail, we turned to the matter of dividing the bill @_@ Oh dear, I think we advanced straight up to advanced levels of Bistromatic maths...
dancing_moon: Farin Urlaub is shot by Lara Croft. No, really (Farin U)
...and then she went Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!! because the tribute night to Die Ärzte, a multi-band cover concert, turned out friggin awesome! out of 8 bands, I only really felt one were bad )and they could play, but they totally lacked energy and/or stage presence), it ended with all the bands + some audience + plenty of beer *cough* on the stage of Kulturbrauerei singing Zu Spät and Westerland after a pretty fantastic 4 HOURS of music & jokes by/about/related to my favorites favorite band in the world.

This after a Friday evening spent playing Settlers of Catan and Munchkin until laaate (got home at four-ish. AM.) and a Saturday day which began with a spontaneous visit to IKEA because we totally needed a spagetthi strainer and a lkfmnhj-thingy, which you turn pancackes etc with, for the non-stick pan followed by a equally spontaneous stanidng around watching the inline skating marathon as it passed by our subway station (but we ran home and dumped the IKEA stuff. Since when do they not have paper bags, the bastids?) and that was really nice, sunny, happy people, swoooosh and they'd inlined past.
Alright, the accident we saw because some dumb fuck just couldn't wait or go around so that a poor marathonist rolled into her bike which she saw fit to drag over the marked street just before a new big heap of inliners were coming in - that was less fun, more ohshit!! But the inline person seemed fine and rolled away after someone helped hir up & the stupid woman with a bike got booed out, a soda can thrown after her and an angry lecture from someonein an Official Jacket, so all was well.

AND THEN I went off to spend something like five hours dancing and getting to know some people whom I will meet again at the Abwärts concert and now my feet are falling off, but I am so happy =D

♥ YAY BERLIN ♥ YAY DIE ÄRZTE ♥

Last but not least: YAY ♥ I ♥ WILL ♥ SLEEEEEEEP ♥ UNTIL ♥ SUNDAY AFTERNOON
dancing_moon: Jadeite / DM / Me (Default)
Confusion! Verfrämdung! Language meep!

Yes, I am going to the theatre tonight - The Caucasian Chalk Circle

You know it's going to be an interesting performance, when you can't even pronounce the name in its original language... But I do look forward to it a lot ;)
dancing_moon: Kitty: *hugs* (*hugs*)
Today was so hot!! Feeling like I wanted to escape the heath, yet do something fun the day before school starts I decided to visit the aquarium by Berlin Zoo.

It partly failed, because the aquarium was also very hot and humid, but on the other hand it was very exciting.

Many beautiful tropical fish and some species I haven't seen in aquariums before. I was especially impressed by their selection of amphibians and the insectarium! They had red weaver ants - those critters make one VERY impressive nest - that were not behind glass. I think they were kept in captivity by the pool of water that surrounded them, since it was smoking from (I assume) frozen oxygen = too cold for ants to "swim" over. A few adventurous ants had escaped anyway and were climbing the wall ~to freedom~ or something... Or maybe they were lost?

They also had several salamanders (the Chinese Giant Salamander isn't about to win any beauty contests, is it?) and jelly-fish, which I rarely see in aquariums. Especially liked the little white-and-purple bellshaped jelly fish, they looked like adorable aliens bobbing up and down in the water ^^

I filmed quite a lot, but since the light (and noise, oh children -_-) levels were as they were, I think I'd better cut away some stuff before I youtube it. This little clip of an arapaima, the world's largest sweetwater fish, hailing from the Amazon, was decent enough on its own :)

Click for a very big fish )

I absolutely recommend it to aquarium fans, I spent about four hours there today. Er, but do avoid the uppermost floor if you find bugs unpleasant, there was a bit of a crawling sensation down my back from time to time ^^;
dancing_moon: Wao Youka as Dracula (Creepy)
There is this thing called budgeting. My budget, in this special circumstance of one heap'o'CSN and euros and whatnot, is what this post is all about )

So, budgeting it is. And saving every recipe, sorting them and trying to figure out how much I need each month to live one. The rent is higher too, a given since I'm living in the middle of the city, although it's far from painfully high.

Because when the big downpayment comes, I WILL know how much it costs to live in Berlin, how much I can use for fun every month and that's final!

This post brought to you by the four letters I got from the bank today and my argh-official-documents-in-German procrastination angst ;) Now I'm gonna be a good girl and actually open them!
dancing_moon: My books: Never enough shelf space (books)
One of the awesome things about German manga is that it's much cheaper than US manga and it's usually the same size as the Japanese editions. Buying only a leetle more than I planned, I've almost caught up with the local edition of Fullmetal Alchemist *happybounce*

This manga was, alas, cancelled in Sweden at volume 18. When I was here last summer, they'd just released that part, but now they're up to volume 24 (have bought 23). The back of the books also have the same design, so they'll fit nicely on the bookshelf

And it's really really good, we're so close to the end and I've managed to remain unspoiled and haven't even read scans - the reward is that it's absolutely breathtaking to see how Arakawa's plot threads are tied together, how they're racing towards salvation or apocalypse and I really don't know who's gonna survive in what shape and I don't even WANT to guess. Just let me follow and enjoy, please =D

Then I spent some time at the local library yesterday. Looked around a little at the books, but I was tired, so I sat down and read comics. Even for such a small library, they had a decent amount.
Tried two volumes of Donjon (Dungeon), which I've heard much about, but it really isn't my thing. Can't appreciate the humor in the funny part, the dark Monster-book felt a bit pointless (I don't think "So who cares?" was the reaction you were supposed to have for the endless misery in that one) and neither of the two drawing styles were quite my taste.

I had more luck with Fräulein Rühr-Mich-Nicht-An (Miss Don't-Touch-Me) an odd story set in Paris of the 1920ies. Unfortunately, I could only find volume 2-3 of this story, but it still caught my interest.
A very squirly, yet simple, French cartoon style and a story based in a luxurious bordello with murders seemed worth checking out.

And it was interesting, although I can't really judge it based on the parts I've read, since vol 1-2 make up one story and apparantly 3-4 another (according to this review which also links the very first pages)

It's about Blanche, who works together with her sister as a maid in Paris. When her sister is murdered, she follows the trail and ends up in a brothel, where she is (for reasons I don't quite know, since I missed the beginning) hired to only dom/whip customers but not sleep with them. She makes quite a splash as the strict virgin lady and gains both friends and enemies in the brothel, while she hunts her sister's murderer.

I definitely want to read more of it, because there were some bits - the characterization of Miss Jo, the setting etc that I really liked, but I also don't quite know if I can buy Blanche as a character and how she ended up hired there is also a big question-mark to me. I've gotta get myself over to Amerika-Gedenk-Bibliothek soon, they've got loads of... everything, really, it's pretty huge but they had a very nice comic selection when I was there last time (err, 10 years ago)
dancing_moon: Gilbert goes "Wat??" (wat)
Ze street signs
I decided that, since I am joining the tech-geeky generation by buying a Smartphone (Samsung Galaxy 5, like it so far) and Facebook is evul and only allows logged-in people to see the pictures, and I am far to lazy to double-upload everything, imma gonna get a twitter account. Connected to twitpic, you see =)
So if anyone wants to see my random photos from Berlin (which I will try to remember to actually take, ehehe) you can find my tweetages @dansandem

This photo, I just have to share twice:
Crossing Rudi-Dutschke-Str/Axel-Springer-Str

I _boggled_ seeing those signs during my walk, lemme tell you! Now, you gotta know some pretty recent German history to understand that bogglement, and I most certainly do not know the whole story!

But, basically Dutschke was a left-activist and student leader. He was shot by a right-wing extremist in 1968, survived but was severly wounded.
And Axel Springer was the then owner of the Springer-group which, among other things, owned the magazine Bild which went out very hard against the student movement and agitated in what to me looks like a pretty Sarah Palinish way (less crazy religion tho).

Eh, right, the Springer main offices is also right by this crossing.

Sooooo basically I stood there wondering whether I misremembered a name (Springer, Sprenger, what do I know? Apparantly I didn't), if this was some kind of German expression of black humor, if it was a protest against Springer or what. So of course I had to photograph it, and from what I can see off Wikipedia, it's basically a combined memorial for Dutschke and a bit of a "Fuck off!" to Springer.

If anyone has more information or a link about this, do share because it seems fascinating =D



Så var det det där med lokaltrafiken aka My thoughts on BVG vs. SL

(I suspect the rest of this post will mainly interest [personal profile] lanjelin but what the hell she's not here so I can discuss it face to face so you ALL GET TO SHARE =D)

BVG = The peeps running the trains, buses etc in Berlin
SL = Dito, but Stockholm

BVG vs SL: Overall )

Prices )

So: If you work and buy a monthly ticket, the difference in cost ain't that huge. If you're a visitor or a student, Berlin FTW

One place where it's mostly a YMMW is the matter of ticket barriers and ticket formats )

Oh, and there one more way that the BVG wins. THE *BLEEPING* TRAINS ACTUALLY RUN. ON TIME. Sure, delays happen, but they're an exception, not the norm

And since school starts tomorrow, I really gotta sleep now!
dancing_moon: [APH] Austria getting his hair teased (Stress)
Ahhh I just wrote my first formal e-amil in German and now I want to hide beneath the bed. The tenses! The Fälle! Those bloody stupid gendered nouns which I don't know because I only actually sat down and studied German grammar in school when I was like 14. That was in another millenia, how am I supposed to remember!!!

Gah.

But it was to the ERASMUS coordinator at the school, so hopefully she's used to various misspellings. At least I have a proper copy-pasted business mail greeting in the beginning /when in doubt, shoot for formality/
dancing_moon: Text: Resistance is ohm (resistance is ohm)
a.k.a. The Exciting Sequel to DM Trying to Register as a Resident of Berlin. Subtitle: The Rebels Exchange Student Is Victorius!

So, today after some online research and preparation, off I went to visit my third third Citizens Office... )

Feeling emboldened by this sucess (btw this paperwork has cost me a total of 4,5 hours of waiting, some phonecalls, four subway tickets [of which 3 were basically wasted] and considerably aggravation) and some pizza I bought in the subway and put away in record time, I decided I'd attack the next hurdle to a free and painless life in Germany: Getting a bank account and an EC-card.

Because whoever said VISA works everywhere, lied )

*phew* I feel much better after this tl;dr whine. Although I thought it was supposed to take three months before you got to the "raarh stupid foreign customs why must you be so aggravated"-stage.
Ok, this is a bit of a hyperbole. I know Swedish government agencies can also be painfully slow - after all, I had a delightful five-hourish wait for my new passport this summer - but at least they are doing their very best so that you never actually have to park your butt in their offices, so I'm not used to quite this level of aggrevation. Not quite.

* obligatory whinage of Swede used to do 99% of government contact electronically/by phone now follows: OH LORD WHY CAN'T THE WORLD START USING OBLIGATORY NATIONAL ID NUMBERS ALREADY
dancing_moon: Farin Urlaub is shot by Lara Croft. No, really (Farin U)
I was gonna buy a ticket to some little multi-band "Tribute to Die Ärzte" event her in Berlin, sounded fun. And so I check out the Badeimster page to see if there's anything official about it, they list DÄ parties and whatnot sometimes

And what do I see? DIE ÄRZTE HAVE ANNOUNCED A NEW TOUR FOR 2012!!! With ticket sales starting in 2 days

*makes whimpering noises at the thought of almost having missed this*

For those readers now confused, Die Ärzte (die beste band der welt ♥) are a German punk-rock band that I've been a great fan of for ten years now* and they always have GREAT concerts. And the Berlin concerts in particular tend to sell out in 0.2 seconds or something like that.

Well. We can't have that, so at midnight on the appropriate date I'll be F5-ing my computer like mad.

But! There is a cloud on the sky - my debit card was refused when I tried to buy the "tribute to DÄ" ticket, for unclear reasons. There's money in the account and my login works spiffily... but I think that because the German website isn't equipped for our fucking Swedish credit card e-security measures, the bank refused the transfer. Can't have that >_> If worst comes to worst, I'll ask my sister or someone to buy the tickets from Sweden and just fork over the money, but first I'll try to solve it here. Deutsche Bank apparantly has offices in Sweden too, so after my visit to Burgeramt, off I go to see if I can get a EC-card. Hopefully, those work online. Or I'll just have to pay for a credit card too, I need to be able to order online tickets and stuff!

But still...

OMG DIE ÄRZTE ARE TOURING WHILE I'M IN GERMANY YAY YAY YAY!!!!

*It was slightly odd to realize that, since it is now exactly ten years since 9/11 and I sat in a living room in Erkner watching what happened on the screens, that means it's been ten years since my first time living in Germany

Profile

dancing_moon: Jadeite / DM / Me (Default)
Dancing Moon

Tags

Style Credit

May 2012

S M T W T F S
  12345
678910 1112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 01:10