dancing_moon: Kermit goes "YAY Ohmygod" (Yay)
Gackt is coming to Stockholm (link of relevance: http://www.skrikhult.se/)

Guess who just bought her ticket ^____^ This is gonna be great! I especially love his old stuff, but he's a great entertainer and like all my friends will be there and it's just gonna be SO. MUCH. FUN

*happydance*
dancing_moon: Farin Urlaub is shot by Lara Croft. No, really (Farin U)
I have reached the weak-but-bored staged of my illness. So it may be a good thing that I don't have any lighters in the house.

Shiny Youtube embed below the cut )

Or a blender >D

After all, it is a truth universally acknowledged, that a science geek in possession of common household appliances must be in constant temptation to blow them up.

ETA:
Although I think even McGuyver would wear gloves before he tried this... )

But it's like I always say - you can't stop people from making explosives at home, because it's darn easy to blow shit up. The best you can do is make them unable to buy stable, "aimable" explosives in the supermarket
dancing_moon: Farin Urlaub is shot by Lara Croft. No, really (Farin U)
So this silly little ad is what I did today, inbetween the sleeping, coughing and blowing my nose



Then T, [personal profile] lanjelin's sambo ;) dropped by to get a paper signed and I followed her to the bus to get a pizza. That was exhausting. Also it tasted a lot less than the one I had yesterday, but I don't really think it's their fault *mope*

By the way - huge gold star to anyone who recognizes where I nicked the opening humpidumdum sound from. It's very me *lulz*

ynk

May. 25th, 2011 06:38
dancing_moon: Mana looks angsty (woes)
Ill.

The vague discomfort from yesterday has bloomed out into full cold. Sore throath, pain in the ears and I have no bloody time to be home sick.

Bah!
dancing_moon: To Victory! Daleks can win the war (victory!)
So if you ever want to see a one-woman impression of a plague of locusts, watch me devour a pizza after nine straight hours of essay writing. But don't blink ;)

However, I think it was worth the effort, as I am bloody finished \o/ It still needs a workthough of course, especially the summary and reflection/criticism part is probably very rough since I just wrote them in the space that was left and sent the whole thing off, but in case of emergency it is in a hand-in ready state. With another meeting and a few more days of polish, it will either turn out pretty good or I'll pick at it until I hate it, call it all crap and hand it in anway. We'll see ^^

In less good news, me throat hurts and I fear I might be coming down with a cold. I'll have a cup of tea and put myself to bed soon, which hopefully will keep me together for at least half a days work. I think I have an hour or two to comp out

And then I'll review my textbooks before I have to return the bunch! ^_^
dancing_moon: Jadeite / DM / Me (Default)
Today I'll have to send in my paper to my supervisor and on Friday we'll have the last meeting. Then I had better be pretty much done, because by next Tuesday I'll have to hand it in ^_^;

It's going well, but I've only half a page left and haven't done the summary. At all. I've trimmed away a lot of half-finished thoughts that didn't go anywhere (it used to be three pages over and I've added more meat to my main points) and I'll try to do it again, because I really don't know what to cut out completely. There are hopefully a few redundant descriptions and event summaries that take up a lot of place hidden somewhere in those pages...

But it's really fun. Except the computer room is bloody freezing and I forgot my sweater *shivers*
dancing_moon: Mana looks angsty (Mana)
One of the problems with having so many breathing related allergies and crap as I do (asthma, hayfever, cigarette smoke, fur animals, perfumes, chemicals...) is that it gets darn tricky trying to use any of the fancier beauty products that aren't especially made for allergics.

I can't go into a perfume department or even a Body Shop on the bad days. I have a violent hatred for Lush and many new-agey stores, because the first one stinks down the entire street and the second tend to have clothes and stuff I'm interested in, but the incensce smell is too heavy for me to go inside. So. That's annoying. Now they just have their foot moisture series which, while useful, isn't exactly what I want.

But there are some scents I can handle pretty well and one of them - which I also really love - is MINT! I've got a mint/pine soap a friend gave me (one of these big bars) which I actually think comes from Lush so I'll have to send my sister or someone when it runs out. The Body Shop carried, for a short time, a blue mint shampoo and I loved it passionately. Now they don't have it anymore :(
I've also managed to find some pretty neat colored lip balms with a minty/eucalyptys taste. I think they're for skiing and stuff actually, but I dun care :)

And that's about it. It's all made more difficulity to spend too long time in any make-up/bath stuff aisle (don't get me started on the detergents. I tend to run in, grab something Via or Arial, and escape) and my general disinterest in, y'know, actual make-up. The concealer and powder kind, I mean. Most of it gives me a rash anyway...

But if anyone has any tips of minty goodness, they are very welcome ^_^

ETA: And it's not like I need any of this, really. I make do very well with shampoo-scented shampoo and anti-allergic soap. 's just that sometimes, you want something a bit more fun
dancing_moon: To Victory! Daleks can win the war (victory!)
I'd seen some rather lackluster murmurings about this latest episode, but even if some things did feel a bit rehashed, I thought it was an entertaining episode. Not as captivating as the opening, nor as brilliant as The Doctor's Wife, but good. Just right for a late Sunday evening viewing before I go to bed ^^
dancing_moon: Jadeite / DM / Me (Default)
Guh! Sent away the first two room applications to Berlin.
I really have no idea of the etiquette for these things, but the ads seemed written pretty personally (both places advertizing for a co-renter who wanted to have a "real" WG, instead of a just-money-saving neccessity. And hey, that's nice, I'd like to meet new friends during my exchange year. Also, cooking together = FTW!

But I switched to English after a short introductory sentence because I really, really don't feel as if I could write in German at the moment. Hopefully that won't be seen as terribly rude, at least one of the apartments was renting because one member was going to study in the States so they should know English... *mumblemumble second-guessing-self*

Both places are looking for non-smokers, both lie in the East side (in or near Friedrichshain) and come with at least basic furniture. They also both have some form of central heating (yay), and it's shared with at least one other woman. I kind of side-eyed the ad where two guys were looking for a woman to move in (not an either/or) without giving any specific reason. Maybe I'm paranoid, but nah, that's not for me.

Gosh, I'm nervous. Everyone's been talking about how easy it is to get an apartment in Berlin. Sure it is, compared to Stockholm, I mean these places have been out on the market for weeks and they're at least half the price of anything I've seen here - they'd be gone ages ago. But if it's a good deal in Berlin? Idk. Will I like the people there? Idk either, but it seems like too much paperwork and a bit too much rent to try and get an apartment of my own.

So I'll just cross my fingers and hope that they'll reply positively soon. And not be offended my halting German ^^;
dancing_moon: My books: Never enough shelf space (books)
My univeristy library has a lovely system which sends out mails approx 2 days before you need to return a book (and then you get increasingly stern mails that you should Really Return That Book, NOW PLEASE, once the date has passed). For some reason it's called millenium, so I have a bunch of mails from "millenium". It feels a bit like being in contact with a Dan Brown novel

Anyway! I borrowed a whole bunch of books for my paper and have re-loaned all the ones I'm still working with. However, since there is absolutely no room for anything more in the paper as it is and I have no time at all to read them, I am returning Maria Nikolajeva's books about the structure of childrens literature. I managed to read her first one - Barnbokens byggklossar (The Building Blocks of Children's Books) before the essay writing began, since it was included in the reading suggestion list for the essay course. It was really good! I've also got "Power, Voice and Subjectivity in Literature for Young Readers" here, but I'm gonna return it unread and hope to pick it up later some day.

She uses narrativism to pick apart and analyze the structure in children's literature. It interested me, because it's a much better approach to studing manga than many other lit science entrances I've seen - not as good as actual, y'know, mangastudies but there is still a lack of a good "comic analysiz + story tropes + solid step-by-step analysis - Orientalist exoticism = GOOD FRAME FOR MANGA ANALYSES" book. What I like about using a structure such as Nikolajeva's children's focused narrativism, is that you can get to grips with the text as such, and (I hope) not get tangled up in Western perceptions of Japanese culture. I am, anyway, more interested in How Manga Reads Here than But What Does it Mean There? At least when it comes to trying to do any work of my own, I loved Kinsella's study of the Japanese publishing industry in Adult Manga. But hey, I'm in lit science, not sociology plus I don't speak Japanese - it's not like attempting to update her study will ever be anything that I can or should do :)

Anyway! Nikolajeva: Easy to follow, very structured, I haven't actually tried to apply any of her stuff, but it seemed nice and comprehensible.

This, and the intimatopia idea put forward by Elizabeth Woledge are both tools/theories that really ring true to certain experiences I've had as a fandom-focused reader, writer and all-around participant.
dancing_moon: Jadeite / DM / Me (Default)
fdgjisg

I have totally lost my study motivation. Zweeeh, it escaped through the door after the exchange students, I think

Seems it really does help to have my classmates around for studies, but today I needed to use a big computer with Photoshop and whatnot, and by now they have probably left anyway.

I've almost written the maximum number of pages but I am so far from finished it's ridiculous!

In better news, Gackt is coming to Sweden! Before I leave for Germany!!! Be still, my beating heart =D
dancing_moon: Jadeite / DM / Me (Default)
So the illustrated BLYG poster is done and the girls did a really good job. It's the Raison d'être mascot, Rai-chan, and (I think) Geikai's mascot (dunno hir name, unfortunately) locked in a ~blushing embrace~ while the BLYG mascot fangirls them. If that squid is a girl, I have certain doubts ^^;



And now I gotta drink my tea and get back to work...
dancing_moon: Jadeite / DM / Me (Default)
ALSO! Strawberry butter is like the best thing ever. Super easy to make and each bite tastes like summer

/eats another sandwich. With strawberries. This is joy
dancing_moon: To Victory! Daleks can win the war (victory!)
Cut for Youtubeness and sexy blue boxes! )

What I don't quite get is if it's official or fanmade? Very neat, anyway ^^
dancing_moon: To Victory! Daleks can win the war (victory!)
In my late-night search for popcorn, because I had a sudden craving, I found two great things. The first was a big bag of rice which I'd put on the non-food shelf (probably because I had two bags of rice when I moved in) and the second was some yellow peas. The rice means that I've got so much groceries of all kinds that I probably don't have to buy anything dry or canned before Germany ^_^

The yellow peas? Lunch, the day after tomorrow. They're soaking right now. Um num num, I really like pea soup. Just gotta remember to buy thyme, I'm all out!

I also discovered that the instructions on the popcorn package* suggested adding the salt before the popcorn had popped. I tried it and it's absolutely brilliant! Much more even saltiness and I didn't even have to use butter to get it to stick properly


*note: I have never in my life read the instructions on the popcorn package before. Popcorn is made like dad used to make them, and no silly microwaves for me
dancing_moon: Kermit goes "YAY Ohmygod" (Yay)
Why am I even awake at the ridiculous hour of 09:43 (and I got up at 08:27 what is wrong with my life). Especially considering that I've slept an average of five hours a night these last days? Right, because stress makes you distracted and you managed to lock yourself out of your apartment and had to go from [personal profile] lanjelin's to the parents. Preferably before they leave for the airport and you can't get in there either...

Moving on!

First I shall have to cut for incoherent and Doctor Who spoilerish squee )

Then Eurovision, which we just caught the tail-end of. Third place, go us!* Victory for Azerbadjan, most heartfelt congratulations <3 I really know nothing of that country, so I hope I'll learn a bit (even if it's bound to be very fluffy) when the media spotlight goes to them next year. And the winning artists looked so damn happy that was very sweet.
But I thought the male commenter for SVT made a rather grumpy comment just at the end (can't recall the exact wording now). "Ogin" is the word in Swedish I think of which I just felt was uncalled for. They won, look at them being all teary with joy, and at least little ego-boy Sade brought us a third place (so please stop sending pale blond slips of women without scene presence it won't work. And, as good as our opera singer could sing, a Eurovision winner needs a refrain you can hum along with which her song did not contain)

* In Sweden, Eurovision is very srz bznz

We also had an epic planning, scheduling and brainstorming session for BLYG yesterday, that might deserve a post of its own. We've got a pretty packed con, if I may say so myself and there's like 2 areas which we haven't added any info on yet *_*

Oh, right, and I fixed stuff for the apartment with my future tenants. And also got some much-needed cleaning done, yayness

In conclusion: The intense and lovely SPX weekend was followed by a most dismal and week I wish wouldn't have existed - on all levels, really. Fails heaping up with organizing stuff, lack of time and energy to study, family drama and even work sucked in more ways than one. And now, spiffy weekend again. Since it's a bit more low-key than last week, that makes me hope that if the pattern holds, any potential suck of the comming work week will also be less intense. Please?
dancing_moon: Synonyms are word's you can't spell (can't spell)
Okay. So I follow up my pretty dedicated and productive study day (11.30 - 21.00, is good yeah?) with some pretty productive text writing & forum posting about BLYG'11. Uppcon's forum (I'm going there to sell with the bookstore, by the way. Gimme a shout if you want to meet up!), the Anime.se forum and Animecka, Raison d'êtres forum and last but not least, Saiai no Doru's forum.
Anyone know if there are any other at least halfway active Swedish anime forums? No?
ETA: Or anywhere the Swedish slashers hang out? I really have no clue

Times like these I really miss the old BCManga forum, because even if it was pretty much all crap, you could at least reach a broad audience. And at Zmanga you could reach the ~deep~ audience, a.k.a. the old goats from before Pokémon and Dragonball ^^;

Hopefully I didn't forget anything vital - I missed the friggin date at first, but caught that quickly, and at least our URL is very hard to misspell!
dancing_moon: Jadeite / DM / Me (Default)
Written 7 pages today for the paper. Most of it is very, very rough and the footnotes are a bit of a mess. But it's still a lot and I got in the bulk of the girl/shôjo background I wanted plus the first draft of the series summary. Which leaves the big bulk of the hero background and the analysiz, but I'm trying to be positive here.

I also found a good scan of the gorgeous transformation sequence image that Takeuchi drew in the first artbook, which I'll use on the front page. So no need for me to scan my artbook, yayness!

Also had great use of an article [personal profile] unjapanologist linked me to, Young Females as Super Heroes: Superheroines in the Animated Sailor Moon because it defines a bunch of things so that I don't have to. It is, however, riddled with fact errors about the Sailor Moon canon. For instance, even with all the cutting up that the NA edition of the anime received, I am fairly certain that Haruka and Michiru turn up in the third season, not the second. I'm also sceptical to the claim that Usagi is called Serena Moon in the dub, can't recall that.... Oh well. Another of my sources, Hourihan's "Deconstructing the hero" is also full of a bunch of small, weird things. Like calling the Doctor "Dr Who" in one place, and claiming that the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is a good example of a non-patriarchal hero for children (wtf??). And yes, I will try to make note of this somewhere in my footnotes >_>
dancing_moon: Gilbert goes "Wat??" (wat)
Sooo this made go me go "OMG flail!!" and then x_x followed by a =D because it straddles the weird line of cute-wrong. I'm still not sure if it's so cute it's wrong, or if it's so wrong it's cute.

Cat Ears Controlled by Your Brain are just what it says on the can. Or not quite, but it's fake kitty ears that work like a mood ring. You happy? They perk up. Sad or just neutral, they seem to lie down.

My mental chain of association: Eeek, Loveless! Omg imagine the furry uses! Argh, no wait don't! Imagine the cosplay uses instead! And then just the blinding realization that, yes - I can pay my bus ticket or a chocolate bar with my cell phone, there are a few people walking around with chip implants in their arms and brain-"reading" hardware is now so cheap that it can be put into a novelty item. We are living in the future!

FTW!

May. 8th, 2011 17:51
dancing_moon: To Victory! Daleks can win the war (victory!)
The title pretty much sums up this exhausting and wonderful weekend. For The Win - spring has come with wonderfully sunny days and it's like the entire city woke up bubbling with creative glee

Yesterday, after SPX, I was at a dinner with Lisa, [livejournal.com profile] alitna, Stef and a bunch of other people - several of whom I have heard for years, but never actually met. Ah, the famous and elusive artists ;) We went to Pong, which was really epically tasty I have to go back there because I ate until I thought I'd explode

This morning I draaa~aagged myself out of bed to go visit the build site for Citybanan. This will be the new solution for Stockholm's commuter trains, which today have to pass a spot with only two rails (!) which, incidentally, every train from the Southern part of the country has to cross to enter Stockholm. Yeeeah, when there's a delay on our commuter trains, they have to hold stuff in Malmö, it's insane.

But! With Citybanan the commuter trains get their own rails in their own tunnel. And it's a big one, 6 km underground passing beneath one of the city's oldest churches and lake Mälaren. It was interesting to go down in the tunnels and watch the huge machines. They explain how they remove the mountain without disturbing the buildings on the surface, showed where how the explosivs are placed and where the tunnel segments that will go under the lake will connect.

The only process is that it won't be finished until 2017 and we kind of needed more tracks ten years ago...

Then I went back for a last round at SPX - which frankly deserves a post of its own when I'm less dead. Now I have no moniez :o

Also got some really, REALLY good news for BLYG: The ticket system is finally ready to go! Tickets will go on sale in a few days and we also got a confirmation from one of the bands: The Swedish Shortsnouts will play at the con! This'll be the first time a wizrock band plays at an anime convention in Sweden afaik and I think and hope that it'll be a pleasant experience for everyone ^^

Profile

dancing_moon: Jadeite / DM / Me (Default)
Dancing Moon

Tags

Style Credit

May 2012

S M T W T F S
  12345
678910 1112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 19:31